Never forget what you are, for surely the world won’t.


“Never forget who you are, for surely the world won’t. Make it your strength. Then it can never be your weakness. Armor yourself in it, and it will never be used to hurt you.”
― George R.R. Martin, A Game of Thrones

GOT_TyrionLannister_02

I first came across this quote a few months ago when I started reading the‘A Song of Ice and Fire’ series and it has been etched into my mind ever since. If everyone followed this logic, we’d become a generation of confident and intrepid individuals, and I can’t imagine this would have anything but a positive effect.

The first thing that popped into my mind when I read these words of wisdom from Martin was ‘coming out of the closet’ a few years back (typical, of course I would bring it back to this, eh?). I’d imagine that I’m not the only gay in the world who has taken this curveball of homosexuality (note: hate that word, it makes me feel like I’m reading a textbook) that life has thrown at them and turned it into a positive, but it’s amazing how much my life improved after I took this ’embarrassing’ quality and turned it into a part of me for everyone to see. My first thought when I finally came out was ‘Why didn’t I do this sooner?’.

Take all of the qualities about yourself that you can’t change, good and bad, and put them on display. As Tyrion Lannister said, if you use it as your defence, no one can use it against you.

Warm Regards,

Josh

P.S.: For some reason this feels like an appropriate time to share my favorite reaction that I’ve had to telling someone that I’m gay. I was at a party back in high school, and for some reason it seemed like an appropriate time to go from person to person exclaiming my new revelation. Looking back, this probably wasn’t the best idea, since I come from a hillbilly-type rural farm area. My news was met with a lot of  unintentially rude responses such as ‘Oh, I’ve known forever!’ and ‘I knew before you did’, but one of my good friends said one of the sweetest things anyone has ever said to me: “I’d still love you all the same even if you told me that you were attracted to ant-eaters”. Hehe. Still makes me smile.
Leave a Reply

