Toronto: Pride, Sushi, Walking, and Fevers


I’ve just returned home to Nova Scotia after a week in Toronto. I enjoyed myself so much that I spent a few hours trying to think of ways that I could just stay forever, but I don’t think my family would appreciate that much. 😉

I happened to be in the city for the tail end of the Pride celebrations. I was lucky enough to be able to tag along with my boyfriend’s family, who were staying right beside the CN Tower, which had been lit up in a rainbow attire.

2013-06-30 21.34.00

It was such a great experience to see so much energy and happiness floating around. It was contagious, and one of the best weekends of my life. I need to go back next year, especially since Toronto will be hosting World Pride, which is expected to draw ~5 million people (holy SHIT!), compared to this years’ 1.22 million. I’m getting butterflies just thinking about it.

After the Pride celebrations had come to a close, I spent the next few days walking around the city for hours on end (with almost no sense of direction) to the point where my legs are now sprouting muscles in places that I didn’t know was possible. We were now staying just outside of Korea Town, so many meals consisted of cheap sushi and questionable bottled drinks.

I went to a Blue Jays’ game. Having little interest in sports, and extremely basic knowledge of baseball, I felt a bit out of place, but I can’t deny that it was fun. I’m still mad that the Beer guy tried to tell me that my ID was fake, though…He even stole 3$ from me! The Jays’ lost, but it was a close game.

2013-07-02 19.29.38-2

If you’re ever looking for some GREAT food while in TO, check out North of Brooklyn Pizza. Their white pizza is life changing. Seven Lives is great too, if you’re looking for some tacos around Kensington Market.

I spent the rest of the week periodically laying in bed with a fever. I guess I was dehydrated or exhausted or something, but MAN it sucked. Then again, I’d rather be in Toronto with a fever than be in Nova Scotia with this agressive heat.

Excuse me, I’m melting.

Josh

Leave a Reply

